We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post.

Business loans without collateral can provide funding without pledging equipment, property or other assets. The important distinction is that an unsecured loan can still require a personal guarantee: collateral and personal liability are separate questions.
Quick answer: The seven products below are described by their providers as unsecured or requiring no collateral. They include installment loans and revolving credit lines. That does not establish that an individual offer has no guarantee, no fees or no other contractual risks. Confirm the security and guarantee provisions in the documents you would actually sign.
Official sources checked October 30, 2026. This is a comparison of published product information, not a firsthand borrowing test. Maximum amounts are not approval predictions. Rates, eligibility and availability can change.
What “without collateral” actually means
Collateral is property pledged to secure an obligation. It may be a specific asset or broader categories of business property. An unsecured loan does not have an agreed collateral pledge securing that debt.
A personal guarantee is a separate promise to meet an obligation if the borrower does not pay. A loan can be unsecured and personally guaranteed at the same time. Signing a guarantee can expose the guarantor to collection under its terms and applicable law, even without a mortgage or other specific asset pledge.
A blanket security interest can cover broad classes of business assets. It is not the same as having no collateral merely because no single machine or vehicle is listed. The agreement determines which property is covered.
A UCC-1 financing statement gives public notice of a claimed security interest; filing a form and creating an enforceable security interest are distinct issues. For example, Washington’s attachment rules and financing-statement rules treat them separately. Have unclear security language reviewed rather than relying on a marketing label.
How the seven products were selected
Each entry has an official product page describing it as unsecured or requiring no collateral. The list includes seven distinct products from six providers; PNC’s installment loan and revolving line are different borrowing structures. This is a shortlist by funding need, not a numerical ranking or a promise of nationwide availability.
The review did not include an applicant-specific offer or signed loan agreement. Where a public page does not resolve a guarantee or lien question, the guide says to confirm it. It does not turn missing information into “none.”
Compare seven no-collateral financing products
| Product | Structure | Published amount | Potential fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| PNC Unsecured Business Loan | Installment loan | $10,000–$100,000 | A defined one-time expense |
| PNC Unsecured Small Business Line of Credit | Revolving line | $10,000–$100,000 | Recurring working-capital needs |
| Wells Fargo BusinessLine | Revolving line | $10,000–$150,000 | Businesses meeting its history and credit criteria |
| Bank of America Business Advantage Credit Line | Revolving line | $10,000–$250,000 | Businesses with at least two years under current ownership |
| U.S. Bank Unsecured Quick Loan | Installment loan | Up to $50,000 | A smaller lump-sum financing need |
| OnDeck Line of Credit | Revolving line | $6,000–$200,000 | Operating businesses comparing online working capital |
| Kiva U.S. loan | Crowdfunded loan | $1,000–$15,000 | Smaller needs with community support |
Sources are linked in the individual entries. Ask about geographic eligibility, existing banking relationships and current underwriting requirements before applying. “Up to” is a ceiling, not the amount a typical borrower receives.
1. PNC Unsecured Business Loan
Potential fit: An established business with a defined expense that wants a fixed-rate installment structure.
PNC’s Unsecured Business Loan lists $10,000–$100,000, no collateral, a fixed interest rate and level monthly payments with a maturity of up to five years. Payments are automatically deducted from a business checking account. A universal interest rate is not stated on the reviewed product page; obtain a quote and fee disclosure.
PNC’s separate business lending guidelines say owners must guarantee bank loans and generally describe at least two years under the same ownership for traditional business lending. Those guidelines are illustrative, not the entire credit policy. The product-specific page describes this particular loan as requiring no collateral.
- Advantage: A set repayment term can help budget a single project.
- Limitation: A pre-revenue business should not assume it meets traditional bank underwriting.
- Before applying: Confirm the personal guarantee, all charges, prepayment terms and the absence of a security agreement or cross-collateralization provision in the actual offer.
2. PNC Unsecured Small Business Line of Credit
Potential fit: A business that needs to borrow in stages rather than receive one lump sum.
The PNC unsecured line lists $10,000–$100,000 with no collateral, a variable Prime-based rate and a $175 annual fee. The published payment formula is 1.5% of the balance, with a $100 minimum, automatically deducted from a business checking account. Confirm the full billing and payoff terms in the agreement.
The same general PNC lending guidelines apply to the credit review; they should not be read as overriding the unsecured product’s published collateral description. Obtain the guarantee and final security terms for this specific account.
- Advantage: Revolving access can suit needs that arise at different times.
- Limitation: The variable rate and annual fee must be included in the comparison.
- Before applying: Ask how a minimum payment affects the payoff period and what conditions could change access to the line.

3. Wells Fargo BusinessLine
Potential fit: An operating business seeking a bank line with published eligibility guidance.
Wells Fargo describes BusinessLine as an unsecured revolving line of $10,000–$150,000 that requires personal guarantees. Its guidance specifies at least six months in business and says guarantors typically have a FICO score of at least 680. Guarantees are required from owners holding 25% or more, with a minimum combined ownership coverage of 51%.
Its line-of-credit FAQs state that collateral is not required for BusinessLine, distinguish it from the secured Prime Line and publish variable pricing of Prime plus 1.75%–9.75%, depending on credit evaluation. This is a quoted interest-rate range, not a borrower-specific all-in APR.
The first-year annual fee is waived. Published fees thereafter are $95 for limits of $10,000–$25,000 or $175 above $25,000. Some transaction types have additional charges. Check the current fee schedule and payment formula.
- Advantage: The lender publicly distinguishes the unsecured product from its secured alternative.
- Limitation: An unsecured designation does not remove its guarantee requirements.
- Before applying: Verify the owners who must sign, current pricing, account conditions and the payment due on your planned balance.
4. Bank of America Business Advantage Credit Line
Potential fit: An established business comparing a larger unsecured bank credit line.
Bank of America’s unsecured Business Advantage Credit Line lists $10,000–$250,000 and says no collateral is required. Published requirements include two years under existing ownership and $100,000 in prior-year revenue; personal credit above 700 FICO is described as typically required.
The line has annual renewal at the bank’s discretion and monthly payments based on the balance. The $150 annual fee is waived in the first year. Rates depend on the application; any promotional pricing must be evaluated with the later rate and applicable terms.
- Advantage: A potentially useful revolving structure for a business that meets the history and revenue requirements.
- Limitation: Renewal is not guaranteed, and the published minimums exclude many brand-new businesses.
- Before applying: Confirm personal guarantee requirements and the complete security, fee and renewal provisions. The reviewed public description is not a substitute for those documents.
5. U.S. Bank Unsecured Quick Loan
Potential fit: An operating business needing a smaller fixed-sum loan rather than a credit line.
U.S. Bank’s Quick Loan comparison separates the unsecured option, up to $50,000 and up to 48 months, from a larger secured product. Its application instructions require a personal guarantee for small-business loans and lines of credit. Its eligibility discussion references at least six months in business, alongside credit, cash flow and debt considerations.
A single universal interest rate is not stated in that comparison. Obtain the rate, APR if provided, installment schedule and all fees for the unsecured offer. Ask specifically about early-payoff charges rather than assuming early repayment is penalty-free.
- Advantage: The bank clearly identifies the no-collateral version and its smaller maximum.
- Limitation: Do not mistake the secured Quick Loan’s larger ceiling or longer term for unsecured availability.
- Before applying: Confirm location eligibility, the guarantee, payment frequency, net proceeds and total repayment.
6. OnDeck Line of Credit
Potential fit: A revenue-producing business evaluating online working-capital access.
OnDeck’s line-of-credit page describes an unsecured line of $6,000–$200,000. It lists 12-, 18- or 24-month repayment terms, weekly or monthly payments, and minimums of one year in business, $100,000 annual revenue, a business checking account and a 625 personal FICO score.
It publishes no origination, monthly or draw fees and says it does not charge an annual fee. Late or returned-payment charges can still apply. Its disclosed average line-of-credit APR is 59.8% for originations in the half-year ending June 30, 2026; that historical figure is not a quote or promised rate.
Confirm the line’s guarantee and security provisions directly. Do not copy the lien or guarantee terms of OnDeck’s separate term-loan product into a description of this credit line.
- Advantage: A revolving option for an established business with repeated working-capital needs.
- Limitation: Borrowing cost and frequent payments may make the offer unsuitable despite quick access.
- Before applying: Compare the full repayment and ask how another draw changes the payment schedule.
Our OnDeck line of credit review examines the revolving product in more detail.

7. Kiva U.S. loans
Potential fit: A small financing need where the owner can allow time for community fundraising.
Kiva U.S. advertises $1,000–$15,000 loans at 0% interest with no fees, no collateral and no minimum credit score. The process involves private support from the borrower’s network followed by public crowdfunding. There are business-type and other eligibility restrictions; businesses registered or primarily operating in Nevada or North Dakota are excluded.
Kiva’s borrower page describes repayment beginning one month after disbursement, with a separate agricultural-loan exception. Confirm the installment schedule for the actual loan. No collateral does not mean no debt: the borrower still owes repayment.
- Advantage: A stated zero-interest, zero-fee structure for eligible borrowers who successfully fundraise.
- Limitation: Approval and full crowdfunding are separate hurdles; this is not reliable emergency funding.
- Before applying: Check all eligibility rules, network fundraising requirements and the loan agreement’s borrower obligations. Do not interpret the lack of collateral as debt forgiveness or an automatic guarantee exemption.
Why some familiar funding options are not in this shortlist
A broad financing category cannot establish the security terms of a specific offer. Equipment financing and invoice-backed borrowing can involve pledged assets or receivables. A merchant cash advance is not an ordinary installment loan and requires its own contract and cost analysis; it is not treated here as a verified unsecured loan.
SBA programs also require product-specific analysis. SBA’s lender guidance says collateral is not required by SBA for certain 7(a) Small loans of $50,000 or less, with an International Trade exception, and describes separate Express rules. That does not establish the guarantee or final documents of every lender’s offer. SBA microloan terms are set by intermediary lenders, so a microloan is not automatically a no-collateral product.
How to compare total borrowing cost
Compare offers for the same usable amount and expected borrowing period. A lower installment may simply reflect a longer repayment term, while a low advertised interest rate may leave out important fees.
Scheduled financing cost = total scheduled repayments + mandatory fees paid separately − net cash received. Do not add a withheld or financed fee again if it is already reflected in the other figures.
For example, a $50,000 loan with a withheld 5% origination fee provides $47,500 in usable cash. If scheduled repayments total $60,000 and there are no other charges, the financing cost is $12,500. Adding the withheld $2,500 again would double-count it.
A $300 debit on each business day would total $6,000 in a month with 20 payment days, or $6,600 with 22. Use the actual dates and contract schedule; do not assume every month has the same number of debits.
A 1.3 factor applied to a $10,000 advance gives a $13,000 base repayment before other charges. It is not a 30% APR. The annualized cost depends on net proceeds, fees and the dates and sizes of repayments. Do not use an unsupported APR estimate to compare it with a bank loan.
- Request net proceeds, APR if available, full repayment and every mandatory fee.
- Obtain the installment count, actual due dates and the final payoff date.
- For a revolving line, model a specific draw and repayment plan; future draws change the total.
- Check whether early payoff reduces interest or fees, and whether an early-payoff charge applies.
- Read automatic-debit, default, guarantee, security and cross-default provisions.
- Compare the payment with a conservative cash-flow forecast, including a weaker-sales period.
Questions to ask before signing
- Is this exact product unsecured, and does the agreement grant any security interest?
- Will a UCC financing statement be filed? What obligation and property would it cover?
- Does existing collateral for another account secure this new debt?
- Who signs a personal guarantee, and is it limited or unlimited?
- What are the default remedies and the conditions for releasing any guarantee or security?
- Can the lender change the limit, decline further draws or refuse renewal?
Get written answers that match the final documents. If the offer differs from the public page, assess the offer you would sign. Ask a qualified adviser about legal provisions you do not understand.
Documents to prepare before applying
Use the provider’s own checklist rather than assuming every lender needs two years of tax returns or twelve months of statements. Established bank applicants and community-funded borrowers may need different records.
- Business identity, ownership and tax-identification information
- Government identification and any required business registrations or licenses
- Available tax returns, bank statements and current financial statements
- Existing debt obligations and an itemized use-of-funds plan
- Revenue and cash-flow evidence, or projections where the provider accepts them
- Details of existing liens, guarantees and credit agreements
Missing historical records can make some products unsuitable. Do not manufacture projections or treat an assumed customer order as confirmed revenue.
Alternatives if you do not qualify
Ask which requirement caused the mismatch before making more applications. The issue may be operating history, revenue, credit, geographic availability or the amount requested. A smaller project or more time building reliable records may be more useful than expensive substitute debt.
Other approaches include negotiating supplier terms, seeking customer deposits, using owner capital or investigating a suitable community program. Supplier credit can have fees, lost early-payment discounts or late charges; it should not automatically be described as a free loan.
If you consider secured financing, check the full security agreement rather than assuming only the purchased asset is exposed. A secured card or equipment loan is an alternative to this article’s main requirement, not an example of no-collateral financing.
For a newer company, our startup business loans guide explains additional routes and the distinctions between pre-revenue and operating businesses.
Frequently asked questions
Is a personally guaranteed loan still unsecured?
It can be. A guarantee concerns who must repay; security concerns property pledged to support that obligation. A separate guarantee can create personal liability without a specific collateral pledge. Read both the guarantee and any security agreement.
Does a blanket business-asset lien count as collateral?
A security interest over broad business property is collateral-backed financing. “No specific asset required” is not equivalent to “no security interest.” The agreement’s property description matters.
Does a UCC filing automatically give a lender every business asset?
No. The filing and the underlying security rights are distinct. Review the security agreement, the filing’s collateral description and applicable law rather than assuming every UCC record covers everything.
Can a brand-new business qualify?
Eligibility varies. Several products in this comparison require operating history. A new applicant should check suitable community-funded routes and other startup-specific options instead of treating the entire shortlist as startup financing.
Will no-collateral financing protect my personal credit?
Not necessarily. Ask about credit inquiries, reporting and the effect of default or a guarantee. Collateral status alone does not establish how a lender handles personal credit.
Choose the product and contract that match your needs
Start with your funding purpose, actual eligibility and a realistic repayment source. Compare written costs and payment dates, then check security and guarantees as separate issues. An unsecured label answers only part of the decision.
Borrow only an amount the business can carry under a conservative forecast. If a contract is unclear about collateral or personal liability, resolve that before accepting the offer.
Sources and review method
Business Loan Toolkit Editorial Team checked the linked official PNC, Wells Fargo, Bank of America, U.S. Bank, OnDeck, Kiva and SBA pages on October 30, 2026. The UCC discussion links to Washington’s enacted rules as an example, not a substitute for the law governing a particular agreement. Figures are published product terms, not individual offers. Calculations are illustrative. Images are illustrative and do not depict actual borrower testimonials or lender endorsements.